The Journey To Wondercon Update #1

I’ve decided to “journal” the next 14 days as we get ready for Wondercon 2014.
If you don’t know what Wondercon is, then listen up!
Wondercon is hosted by the same company who puts on the giant Comic Con in San Diego California. It is smaller compared to the 120K who attend Comic Con. About 50-60K will be in attendance at Wondercon, or maybe more! They seem to be growing every year.

Up until now, Ink Smith has only attended small book fairs. Condor 21 which was our first experience at a “con” vention had about 650 people in attendance. To our surprise we sold out of a few books and sold several book bags.

Now my dilemma is this: What to expect at an event with attendance in the thousands?

I am in the process of putting the book order together, but I don’t want to over order. I also definitely don’t want to sell out of items on the first day.

Ideally if someone has had experience with this kind of thing I would love your input!

I currently have on order 15 copies of those books that I sold out of, 10 books of those that sold one or have previously been popular at book events, and 5 of those who haven’t really drawn much attention at events. I also am planning to have 40-50 book bags for sale as well. I was told to order about 300 books for this event, but I’m a little uneasy about order that many books. On that note, we will be at other events this year. So extra books wouldn’t be an issue either.
Or should I order more?

I also will be selling Quill pens as well that I have been hand dying and making myself. I will only have a select amount of those there as time keeps eluding me.

Our position is in the back left corner. I have plans to over come this obstacle, although I’ve been told that being in the corner might be a good thing.

So thoughts? What should I do? How many should I order? Advice?

I am very excited!

Leave a Reply

