Rick DeStefanis – Guest Author Interview

Rick DeStefanis
Website:http://rickdestefanis.com/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Rickdestefanisphoto
Book Page:https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5009527.Rick_DeStefanis
Publisher: Amazon/Create Space

 

Question: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

 

I believe I would not have used the sub-title, “A Vietnam Sniper’s Story.” Although it is a large part of The Gomorrah Principle, it is not THE story, nor is it the only story. I’ve actually been fortunate to receive a great many positive reviews from female readers who have discovered the deeper aspects of mystery and romance this novel contains. The flip-side of course is the number of strong reviews I am receiving from veterans. And their comments pertain more to the realistic portrayals of characters and events than they do to the inevitable battle scenes. If The Gomorrah Principle were accurately described, I suppose it might read something like,”A historical fiction, espionage thriller with elements of romance and mystery.”

Question: Do you have a specific writing style?

I like to write what I like to read–if that makes sense. In other words, I can spend four pages describing a summertime hillside in Vietnam, and lose my reader after a couple or three paragraphs, or I can blend that description with a ratcheting tension, my character’s inner thoughts and a variety of other literary techniques. I can put my reader in a scene and describe it such that the reader’s own imagination does the rest of the work. Pages 76 to 79 of The Gomorrah Principle are a good example of this. There are several very successful authors who drag their readers through the minutiae of multi-page descriptions of simple objects, and I truly believe they are exercises that demonstrate more of the writer’s ego than his or her skill with engaging readers. 

Question: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

Naming single favorites of anything from food to authors is just something that doesn’t fit my way of thinking. I might want fresh buttered popcorn today, charcoal broiled porterhouse tomorrow and a pecan loaded chocolate brownie the next. Authors are the same, and my writing tends to reflect certain aspects of many different ones. I like the simplicity of prose used by certain twentieth century writers like Steinbeck and Hemingway. I like tension woven effectively like so many of our thriller authors do today. I especially like to set a scene with vivid, but simple descriptions, and I do have a particular author I believe does that well. James Lee Burke writes what I call “detective novels” that take place in southern Louisiana. I don’t particularly care for the subject matter, but I read and re-read his novels to study his style. He’s a master of the craft.    

Question: What are your current projects?

I have never been a fan of sequels or prequels, but I am presently working on a prequel to The Gomorrah Principle. Some reader friends have all but demanded it. This will be mostly Duff’s story. I am up to Chapter 16 right now, but finding it difficult to keep the tension and mystery with what be the inevitable ending. And the answer is “no, there will be no sequel.” I have another project I want to start, but that’s a discussion for another time. Right now, I’ve got to finish this one, and I need a title. Any suggestions?

Question: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Yes. If you’ve read The Gomorrah Principle share your thoughts with me on Facebook, and right a review of the book on Amazon or Goodreads. There is no better advertisement than word of mouth, and these are the best ways to get the word out to other readers.

Leave a Reply

