Lauren Scharhag- Guest Author Interview

Lauren Scharhag

Website: http://www.laurenscharhag.blogspot.com/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/laurenscharhag?ref=hl&ref_type=bookmark
Twitter: https://twitter.com/laurenscharhag
Book Page: http://www.laurenscharhag.blogspot.com/p/order-of-four-sons_4.html
Publisher: Indie author

What are your current projects?

“I am the co-author of The Order of the Four Sons (O4S) series with Coyote Kishpaugh. Currently, we are working on Book IV, which is the final book of the series. O4S is about a group of paranormal investigators who get sucked through a series of interdimensional gates and have to find their way back home again. It’s very character-driven, like Buffy the Vampire Slayer.

I am also working on a solo project called Black Antler Farm, about a family in a small town whose teenage daughter goes missing. ”

Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Just carving time out of each and every day to do it. But I have to do it. It’s a compulsion. If I don’t get some regular writing time in, I feel a little unspooled.

What inspired you to write your first book?

I actually wrote my first book when I was 13. I had been writing short stories, poetry and little one-act plays from the time I was eight or so. I’ve always loved to read, and I remember one day I thought, “Hey, I could do this.” I remember thinking that there could be nothing better– and I was right about that part. There is nothing better than writing. But the first book was absolutely awful. The second one was also pretty bad. I think my third one was my first real, mature work. You just have to keep at it.

Do you have a specific writing style?

I like to think I have some stylistic trademarks– I like word play. I like clean, disciplined sentences. But I also like to make the voice suit the character, so I also like to think of myself as a chameleon, a mimic. In my novel, Under Julia, several different characters who are on parole tell their stories and I worked very hard to make them all different from each other.

Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Since we’re on Book IV of the O4S series, I’d like to say thanks to those who’ve stuck with us this far. I hope you’ve come to love the characters as much as we do. I hope you’re excited about the end. We do foresee writing some other books related to the O4S verse. We hope there are a lot of good things to come.

Leave a Reply

