Author Interview with Rod Baker

Ink Smith: Where do you do most of your writing? What is your process like?

Rod: I write on my computer in a large room on the ground level of our home. I use two monitors–one screen for the manuscript, the other for research.
 

Ink Smith: How did you come up with the idea of this book? How long did it take you to write?

Rod: I am a big horror film fan. I love the A-Horror films as well as the B Horror Devil's Scribefilms. In the past, I wrote many TV police shows. I wanted to mix a police story with horror and paranormal activity. This triggered the “idea bank” in my head I guess. The idea started small and singular but then branched out as I outlined it until it became the complete Devil’s Scribe. I was busy in life with other things when I started jotting down notes for the book before I could start writing it. I would say actual writing time was 12-18 months.

 

Ink Smith: Who are your favorite authors/books? Why?

Rod: When I started my writing career, I read everything that William Goldman and Richard Matheson ever wrote. I love the way they write, their style. I also read Dean Koontz and Stephen King. I like Clive Cussler—the way he uses a historic event as the catalyst for his stories and the big adventure that results. But what attracts me to a book is usually not the author. It’s the story. If the story grabs my attention, I will read the book no matter who wrote it. Good stories always have the best characters in my opinion.

 

Meet the Author

Rod BRod Bakeraker is an Emmy Nominated, NAACP Image Award and Youth in Film Award winning television writer (with Glen Olson). Rod also co-authored the 10 book children’s series The Adventures of Gabby Bear.  He has a BA in Radio, Television and Film and lives in Thousand Oaks, CA with his wife. Rod is a member of the Writers Guild of America, west.

Leave a Reply

