Author Interview with V.J.O. Gardner

Ink Smith: Where do you do most of your writing? What is your process like?

V.J.O.: I started writing in notebooks before switching to a computer. If I’m not doing anything else I’m thinking about my current story. For the most part I let the characters drive the story.

Ink Smith: How did you come up with the idea of Dracona’s Rebirth? How long did it take you to write?Draconas-Rebirth-eCover-350x500

V.J.O.: It all began with a verse that popped into my head one day: In the silence there were voices. In the darkness there was light. In the stillness there was life. In the cold there was warmth. Yet he was lonely.

It took 10 years for me to complete it since I had a full time job and young children.

Ink Smith: Who are your favorite authors/book? Why?

V.J.O.: One of my favorite authors is Anne McCaffrey. I love how she created a world where people and dragons lived together. My memories of these books inspired me while writing ‘Dracona’s Rebirth’ and my other books.

 

Meet the Author

Vjo GardnerWriting under the pen name V.J.O. Gardner, Valerie is an award winning hybrid author of full length fractured fairy tale fantasy novels. She is a hybrid author.

Always fascinated by both medieval times and sci-fi she was an avid reader and enjoyed a wide variety of literature and authors. She began writing in the late 1980’s after graduating from Dixie State University in St. George, Utah, where she studied Fantasy Lit and Writing. Valerie is a member of the League of Utah Writers and the United Authors Association.

Valerie has been an invited panelist at Tree City Comic Con (Boise, ID.) and at Salt Lake Comic Con (Salt Lake City, UT.) She also has been a panelist at several writers conferences including LTUE (Provo, UT.)
You can visit her at http://www.vjogardner.com

Leave a Reply

